Prisoner of the Sun

This is a rant.  Personal and whiny.  You’ve been warned.

I’m not talking about “Prisoner of the Sun”, the Doctor Who episode.  But Doctor Who does have an image of fembots inside the sun,  and I’m too tired to take any photos, so here you go:

It’s been boiling hot here all week.  Hot all day, hot most of the night.

You should know about me that I am completely useless in any kind of heat.  All I can do is lie around in front of the fan, unclothed as possible, gasping for air.  That might sounds intriguing, unless you’ve actually seen me.

The hideous, burning rays of torment are already unbearable by 8 am and they go on until well after 9 pm.   This makes it impossible to go out  shopping, because I live in the middle of nowhere and have to walk at least 2 km to get to a town where I can take a train to get to another town that actually has a supermarket in it.

I tried to go out last Saturday, I made it 2km, but nearly collapsed of heatstroke and I was sick and useless the rest of the day.   It really is like being a prisoner.

As soon as it finally cools down around 10pm or so, the house starts to release heat and it gets hot in here all over again.  Sure, I have a fan.  All it does is blow the hot air around.

I love living in the country, but not in summer.  Usually I appreciate the money saved and carbon emissions reduced by not having a car, but NOT in bloody SUMMER.

There is nothing to do but distract oneself on the internet while trying not to die.

Strangely, in August it usually rains all the time in the Balkans.  I can’t wait.

4 thoughts on “Prisoner of the Sun

  1. Not being a fan of the rehash of Doctor Who (#purist) I actually assumed you were talking about the Tintin story “Prisoners of the Sun” (Le Temple du Soleil)! I was going to say it’s a good thing you’re not about to become a sacrifice to the Inca sun-gods, but on re-reading your blog post, I’m actually not so sure; maybe they’re getting you with insolation instead of an obsidian knife.

    Wait, didn’t they also have a sacrifice method that involved wrapping the person in rawhide thongs and leaving him/her in the sun to be crushed as the thongs contracted?

    Hmmmm.

  2. Certainly out of the ordinary, your blog posts. That’s why I like them. I’ll know not to visit the Balkans in the summer or to ever visit Chisinau. I enjoy your humor in relaying this helpful information. That may sound like sarcasm, but it’s not. You have a nice way with words…

    • Oh, you can visit the Balkans in the summer. Unless you’re a total wimp like me. It’s unusually hot this year, but it must be cooler in the mountains around Bled, where most of the tourists go anyway.

      Thanks for your kind comments.

Leave a Reply

