I am ashamed to admit this

I can’t think straight. I can’t get anything done.  THIS SONG IS DRIVING ME CRAZY.  I can’t get it out of my head.

Oh sure, the song’s hilarious, but this has gone on for two days now.  I can’t post anything worth reading until it goes away.

Don’t click “Continue Reading” unless you’re immune to earworms.

The song is “Drunken Sailor” by the Irish Rovers.

Video is below.


LA LA LA LA LA DRUNKEN SAILOR LA LA LA LA LA DRUNKEN SAILOR LA LA LA DRUNKEN SAILOR EAR-LAYE IN THE MORNING!

It has surpassed “Chicken Outlaw” by Wide Boy Awake as the most persistent song I have ever had stuck in my head.    That one tormented me for 16 hours straight.  Wanna hear that one?  Of course you do.

Video (extra long version, because I’m sadistic like that)

“Chicken Outlaw” is just one of those songs that make you wonder what kind of drugs they were on when they wrote it.  It makes no sense whatsoever.

Here’s a whole blog about earworms with advice about how to stop them.

My personal experience has found that there is only one way to get rid of an earworm:

GIVE IT TO SOMEONE ELSE!

..I’m sorry.

 

7 thoughts on “I am ashamed to admit this

  1. Pingback: A golden beach and silver sea in Scotland « Exiled Stardust

  2. Pingback: Blue sky and blue water at Barra, the Western Isles of Scotland « Exiled Stardust

  3. Pingback: In the shimmering red-gold twilight, a Scottish castle « Exiled Stardust

  4. Oh I grew up listening to the Irish Rovers (forced) as they had a TV variety show in Canada. If your still suffering from ‘the Drunken Sailor’ syndrome here’s an antidote.

Leave a Reply

